I’m living vicariously…Part I

IMG_20130512_175612_208
From Ask.com:
Living vicariously through someone means to experience something through someone else. For example, the fanatic may not mind his mediocre life because he lived vicariously through his idol.

Let me preface my blog first by saying,

I’m 62 years old, folks!

I know, I know, it’s only a number and you can site me several examples of folks who have accomplished great feats later in life, right? Very true! But when you relinquish control and allow God to steer the vessel, sometimes your life is not what you intended or desired for it to be.

I said all that you say this: I’m living vicariously through my 43 yr. old son, Troy. Although there are some aspects of his life I don’t care to embrace, he has made me very proud in a couple other areas. Becoming a published author, is one! Pictured is a copy of his first published work that began as merely a hobby. Thanks to group fundraising, self-publishing, and a ton of Facebook fans, his dream became a reality! I have always wanted to be a published author (I don’t count the poem that I paid to have published in a poetry anthology as “published”). LOL Needless to say, my dream has become a reality thru Troy. Neeto! πŸ™‚ What more could a mom want than for her child to be successful in life – especially when she gets a double blessing? He’s blessed and she’s blessed!

But, oh contrare – that’s not all! Troy also works in radio, something I always thought would be a fun job, too! (I don’t count selling radio advertising for a small Christian radio station as “having a job in radio” either!) LOL Radio is actually his primary occupation and has been for more than two decades. I’ve never been able to hold down a job for that long, either!! Way to go, Troy!! Mama is truly busting her buttons! What began as a boyhood interest in music, developed into an education in Broadcasting school, to many jobs and travels as a disc jockey to “production work” (don’t know what his actual title is), for a nationally syndicated radio talk show. Wow! I hope I did something right as his mom, but I really can’t take credit for any of it. He is his own man, and always was! I always thought it would be fun to have my own radio talk show, kinda like Dr. Laura or to write my own newspaper column like Ann Landers – thus combining my desire to write as well as work in radio. Neeto!

But, instead I’m living vicariously through my son, Troy while I take care of a 92 yr. old bedfast mother-in-law. Some would say, I have a higher calling right now. I would say, I’m just trying to allow God to work through me and not get in the way of what His plans are for me right now. I’m a proud mama, living out her dreams; just not the way I had planned to. Thanks Troy!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Louella
    Jun 15, 2013 @ 23:21:57

    I love that you are ‘allowing God’ to do his work through you. On the surface, that sounds like something so easy to do, but really, letting go of our own ideas and taking on board an undertaking bigger than ourselves, for reasons we sometimes may not even understand is pretty impressive, and waaaaayyyy easier said than done!

    Great Blog, and it sounds like you have done a good job with Troy πŸ™‚

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow dancingthruyears on WordPress.com
