I’m living vicariously, Part II

DSCN4590

From Ask.com:
Living vicariously through someone means to experience something through someone else. For example, the fanatic may not mind his mediocre life because he lived vicariously through his idol.

Let me preface my blog first by saying,

I’m 62 years old, folks!

I know, I know, it’s only a number and you can site me several examples of folks who have accomplished great feats later in life, right? Very true! But when you relinquish control and allow God to steer the vessel, sometimes your life is not what you intended or desired for it to be.

That being said, I am ALSO living vicariously thru my oldest (37) daughter, Theresa some days. Although not as often as I do with my only son, (See previous blog: “I’m living vicariously, Part I)…I envy Theresa’s creative abilities and wish I were only 1/2 as good. Some would say I am as good – but I would disagree.

She’s the person who got me interested in scrapbooking – and I have 19 STUFFED 12X12 scrapbooks to prove it! But when you look at hers versus mine – it’s obvious who has the creative abilities in the family.

She’s also the one who tried for a VERY LONG time to get me interested in quilting. I resisted because of my time constraints. I was working FT when her urging began, but NOW several years later, while FT caregiver for my 92 yr. old MIL – here I am, totally ADDICTED to quilting and fabric collecting!! My hobbies is primarily what keeps me SANE most days. I guess I can’t say I’m living vicariously any longer, now can I?

Theresa is also a very talented cake creator and decorator. Although I can bake a cake better than she can (she usually uses boxed mixes, where I bake from scratch) – her fondant cakes are very creative and gorgeous! Proof I’m am living vicariously in this catergory is the more than 175 pins of cake I have on Pinterest. She has actually turned all of her creative endeavors into money making opportunities – which completely baffles me, since I have always been strong in sales! The girl can sell ice to an eskimo! She used to make “embellished children’s clothing” when her daughter was young – and turned it into a quite lucrative business for awhile.

Theresa has sold everything from homemade boxed lunches at worksites, to scrapbooks created from her customer’s photos, to cakes for birthdays, anniversaries etc; to quilts (just finishing a t-shirt quilt for someone she works with), to monogrammed towels for housewarming gifts for her sister who is a realtor. And she charges way more than I would ever pay for some of that stuff – it just blows me away and how she connects with people and convinces them to order her wares!

Fast forward to today – Theresa’s creative endeavors have diminished somewhat since she’s now a single parent of 5 children and has had to work outside the home full-time. I take care of her children while she works in the medical field and I guess you could say we have switched roles somewhat.

If I ever get to go back to work (when Granny passes away), it will again probably be something I have already been doing vicariously thru Theresa. One of her jobs she had in the past that I would love to have – is working in a fabric store! LOL

In closing, I would say “I don’t know what the future holds, but I do know who holds the future”!!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. The Underground Writer
    Jun 24, 2013 @ 16:32:18

    You two look so much alike!

    Reply

    • bittygirl51
      Jun 24, 2013 @ 23:22:49

      I guess I will consider that a compliment, because I think my daughter is pretty. Everyone here says the same, especially when they see my younger pics. She’s my spittin image then.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow dancingthruyears on WordPress.com
