What I’m currently working on

I always have a project or two that’s unfinished.  I started this one right after Christmas for my granddaughter, Hannah.  ImageThis is just 6 blocks laid out.  I found this “coin block” pattern on Missouri Star.  My daughter had already picked out most of the fabric for Hannah and said she wanted lots of black with it.  I’m still trying to figure out why it’s called a “coin block”…I don’t see any coins anywhere! LOL  Unless they are rolls of coins…??  I’ve had a lot of fun with this one – because I love the bright vibrant colors.  I always have a difficult time working on quilts for boys or men because the colors and patterns seldom appeal to my tastes and I get bored with working on it.ImageHere’s another shot of it laid out on the floor in my craft room.  Isn’t it pretty?  Haven’t decided yet what type of back it will have, but Hannah’s mother requested that it have a scrappy binding.  What do you think?  Should I have a solid color for the back?  Black?  Hot pink?  Turquoise? Lime Green?  Any ideas?  Two of Hannah’s brothers got quilts from me for Christmas.  Hannah wanted money…so that’s what she got..even though I full well intended to make her a quilt anyway.  She was recently asking about it – wondering if I had made any progress on it.  That spurred me into action.  Hannah hasn’t a clue what it will look like, but I had to put it up because she will be spending the night with me Friday to have some “girl bonding time”.  I was so pleased when she text me to ask if she could spend the night Friday night.  Not many 16 yr. olds wanna spend Friday night with their grandmother so I was truly flattered and pleased!

ImageHannah is my namesake.  She has the same middle name as I.  “Leslie”.  I was so tickled when I found out her mom was gonna name her after me.  

So, the other project I’m currently working on is also one I started quite some time ago.  I had a desire to create a colorful, assorted 9 patch.  So, last year I began this one with no particular person in mind. ImageEach square is 4 1/2″ so once the 9 patch is sewn together it becomes a 12″ block.  It will work great for a large quilt for a queen or king size bed.  I am now on a mission to finish it because my youngest daughter requested another quilt for under her comforter in her Master bedroom.  She stated that she didn’t really care about colors or even if it was just made from scraps because it was not gonna be seen anyway.  Her primary concern was that it be lightweight like the other one I made her and soft to the touch.  ImageI laid out the 9 patches on the living room floor so I could see what it would look like.  I think I’m gonna like it.  I debated on whether to put sashing in between each 9 patch block.  I’ve also considered putting some type of wide border around the outer edges before binding it to enlarge it even more.  Any ideas or suggestions?  Anyway, I’m having fun with my latest projects. This is the way I de-stress after a day of taking care of grandsons.  Sitting at the sewing machine listening to Delilah on the radio is my way of relaxing.

Do you have a favorite thing you like to do to relax?

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Darlene Williamson
    Apr 30, 2014 @ 04:27:58

    Love Hannah’s.. I think it would be cool if you did a solid print(like the zebra) but had a pic of the two of you on it . that would be so special !! Enjoy your Friday nite. I will get all the clothes for the quilts gathered and to you just have not been mentally ready to look at them . hard hard times dealing …miss my Daddy & Granny !! Love ya !!

    Reply

    • bittygirl51
      Apr 30, 2014 @ 14:57:10

      Thanks Darlene! Ha! Funny, you should mention – I was thinking a black & white Zebra print for the back. We are struggling too. Uncle G Don sure miss his brother! We had time with Granny, but Doyal Wayne was so sudden and unexpected. Praying for you…love back at ya!

      Reply

  2. beecee554
    Apr 30, 2014 @ 04:51:48

    Since I don’t quilt, I have no suggestions for your beautiful quilts. I just bet you will figure it all out by yourself. Love both of them! I am on outdoor gal, so when I need to de-stress, I go outside and putter around in my flowerbeds and yard. Spring and summer are my favorite times of the year…….Bonnie.

    Reply

    • bittygirl51
      Apr 30, 2014 @ 14:58:55

      Thanks Bonnie! I love to dig in the dirt as well. I can’t say I have a green thumb, by no stretch of the imagination, but I do like to create some container gardens for the front and back of the house. With my quilts – I often “create as I go”…Thanks for reading and commenting.

      Reply

  3. Kathy
    Apr 30, 2014 @ 05:23:38

    Hey, On Hannah’s quilt back – a friend did one of similar colors and used a lime green small patterned fabric on the back. It really accented it nicely. Just an idea since you asked for suggestions.

    Reply

    • bittygirl51
      Apr 30, 2014 @ 15:00:34

      Thanks Kathy! The jury is still out on the back of Hannah’s quilt but I do appreciate your feedback. Hope all is well with you and yours. Our week has been extremely stressful – but that’s a topic for another day.
      Love ya! Linda

      Reply

  4. Anonymous
    Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:38:00

    Does planning my outfits for the week and creating a weekly checklist qualify as fun and relaxing? If so, by far my favorite things to relax! Maybe you should start your retail therapy a little early with Hannah this Friday? Enjoy!

    Reply

    • bittygirl51
      Apr 30, 2014 @ 15:03:40

      Tanya, Oh yes, that qualifies! Relax whatever way works best for you!! Since I can’t afford a whole lot, I thought about Hannah and I going Garage Saling on Saturday morning if she’s receptive to the idea…but relaxation Shark Tank and popcorn is all I have planned for Friday night. Especially, since I will be at Theresa’s house all day Thurs & Friday with Kash. Looking forward to our little time together – I hope it will still happen. Last number, Mom

      Reply

  5. A.PROMPTreply
    May 04, 2014 @ 03:11:54

    Oh, love the quilt for Hannah! I am not to a point yet in life where I get time for projects like quilting, but I did take a class and did quilt a small wallhanging and it whetted my appetite for a bigger quilt down the line. Hopefully, I’ll be able to pull something off as fine as yours someday!

    Reply

    • bittygirl51
      May 04, 2014 @ 03:54:47

      Thank you for commenting. I would like to encourage you to tackle that larger quilt, especially if you enjoyed the wall hanging you made. I’ve been at it for over two years now and I’ve not grown tired of it yet. So relaxing & fulfilling!

      Reply

      • A.PROMPTreply
        May 04, 2014 @ 17:28:28

        Oh, I actually do have the start on it. I think I’ve got about 8 squares completed for the larger quilt. It’s just life really does have a way of overtaking my brain right now…but it’s quietly sitting there in the box waiting for me to get back to it……I think it’s part of my “retirement” project if I make it that far!

      • bittygirl51
        May 04, 2014 @ 21:55:29

        LOL! Good for you. I always have a project or two just awaiting my attention. Never enough hours in the day.

Leave a Reply

Follow dancingthruyears on WordPress.com
