Celebrating 15 years…

A cold day in E. Texas

A cold day in E. Texas

Jerry and I are soul-mates and fixin to celebrate 15 years of wedded bliss. July 29th will be our 15th Anniversay. The day we said our “I do’s” was pretty uneventful. That may sound cold or unfeeling. It’s not meant to. It’s just that we decided to spend the money we were going to spend on a wedding on a down payment on our house instead. We went to the Court House. After one night in a local motel we picked up the moving van and began combining his household and mine into one.

Now, 15 years later we are still in that same 5 bedroom house. It’s nothing fancy, but it’s home. I was 47 and Jerry was 45 almost 46 when we married. Although we have suffered some challenges and struggles in the 15 yrs we’ve been together our love for each other has never faltered. We blended not only two households of furniture, but 7 grown children to the mix. A couple of them have lived with us for a short period of time and we have always tried to be that “soft place to fall” when they have been faced with difficulties.

Jerry has 4 grown children from two former wives and I have 3 grown children from two former husbands. It is definately not an Ozzie and Harriet world anymore, is it?

So, long story short – our 15 yr. celebration is pretty uneventful also. We’ve never had alot of money. We’ve always managed to get by but cruises or trips abroad (although they would be nice), were not part of our planning. Since we are the full-time caregivers for Jerry’s almost 93 yr. old bedfast mother, we can’t go to far from home even if we could afford to. So, I was excited to know that we were just getting out of town!! We drove 2 1/2 hours to Fort Worth, Texas yesterday to meet my youngest daughter and her husband for dinner. Cattleman’s Steakhouse near the stockyards in Fort Worth was awesome! This was our second anniversary visit to Cattleman’s and both times it was well worth the trip. We made a reservation at the Hampton Inn and Suites for 3 nights and spent today at four Antique Malls. Jerry likes to collect Gillette double edge saftey razors. Unfortunately, the Antique Malls in Fort Worth are pretty proud of their items. They were asking way too much for most of what we found! I am mostly a browser and really enjoy looking at Vintage items, especially quilts, pyrex, brass beds etc; I walked away with two decorative pillows and a piece of calligraphy for my wall. Tomorrow we will go in another direction from our motel and do the same again. We may check out a movie tomorrow night.

We had an interesting lunch today. We wanted to try something different, so we checked out a Lebanese restaurant we had heard about. It was good. It was called Hedary’s. We both had Kebobs. Jerry had beef, and I had lamb. Their hummus and pita bread was out of this world! Baklava for dessert. Yum!

Neither Jerry nor I were ever married for 20 years…(he just missed his 20th with his ex by a few months) and so we hope “God willing and the creek don’t rise” to continue putting a few dollars away for an Alaskan Cruise in 2018. I pray our health holds out and the Lord calls Granny home by then. 🙂

Regardless of what happens, I’m confident that it is going to continue to get easier and not more challenging (

Faith is the substance of things hoped for the evidence of things unseen

Hebrews 11:1

)- because we’ve both grown and matured and no what matters and what doesn’t.

P.S. The picture was taken last winter. It’s the most recent pic I have of Jerry and I together. Stay tuned for more on our trip to Ft. Worth.

20 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Anonymous
    Jul 27, 2013 @ 03:39:16

    Congratulations you two young whipper snappers! May the Lord bless you with at least 15 more! 😉

    Reply

  2. augielife
    Jul 27, 2013 @ 03:40:38

    Congratulations you two young whipper snappers. May the Lord bless you with at least 15 more! 😉

    Reply

  3. Diane Fiore
    Jul 27, 2013 @ 11:47:24

    Happy anniversary. Look forward to that Cruise!

    Reply

  4. Kathy Tandberg
    Jul 27, 2013 @ 15:52:32

    Happy anniversary Linda and Jerry! I didn’t realize it, but you married on Lauren’s birthday! Your long weekend away sounds divine! Love you! Kathy

    Sent from my iPad

    Reply

    • bittygirl51
      Jul 27, 2013 @ 23:09:03

      Thanks Kathy! I think I do remember Lauren’s birthday being on our anniversay. I also remember that yours is in July but can’t recall if it’s the 1st or the 15th. I thought of you several times this month. Sorry, I missed it. Wasn’t Robin also born on July 5th?

      Reply

  5. Casual
    Jul 27, 2013 @ 19:47:03

    Happy Anniversary! Enjoy your time together while out of town. I’ve been married just over 10 years now and we haven’t gotten out of town much either. We have 3 kids, so getting away isn’t much of an option as they are 5,7, & 9 years old. Busy young years. Actually, this past April we were blessed to have the kids “adopted grandparents” offer to watch them so my husband and I could get out of town and celebrate my birthday. Wouldn’t you know it, I got pneumonia 3 days before we were to go and ended up going to the ER. Ahh…. Life. 🙂 Enjoy your time out of the house and celebrating your love! 🙂

    Reply

  6. Diana Black
    Jul 28, 2013 @ 01:54:24

    Congratulations Jerry & Linda on you 15th wedding anniversary. I am so glad you two got to get away and enjoy some time alone. Love ya’ll

    Reply

  7. Bonnie
    Jul 28, 2013 @ 04:11:17

    Congratulations on your 15th anniversary and may the Lord bless you two with many more. Your DFW vacation sounds great and I know what you mean about the traffic. I live here and I am still unnerved by it at times. If you drove in on I20, you passed within a 1/4 mile of my house.

    Reply

  8. oneintercessor
    Aug 01, 2013 @ 03:24:31

    This is so sweet. Are you by chance getting email updates from my blog? Someone requested the password for my posts whose name I don’t know, so if you can let me know via my comments, I won’t have to post it for the world to see but will know for sure if the last name of the “Linda” who wrote me is you :). Hope that makes sense! God bless!

    Reply

    • bittygirl51
      Aug 01, 2013 @ 22:36:31

      No, I dont’ really understand your message. I do like your blog though and am encouraged by what I read. I hope you don’t mind- I love the quote by Miller? on your blog and have shared it on my “quote” page. God Bless you for your kindness.

      Reply

      • oneintercessor
        Aug 02, 2013 @ 02:11:56

        Ok, that answers my question perfectly well, thank you so much. I borrowed the quote from A Wise Woman Builds Her Home. Have you gone there? You can just click on the box on my blog and it takes you to her page. It is the most beautiful blog and I want to copy/paste much of what she has, but instead I’m just referring folks to her. Gotta run for now, take care.

  9. Patty O
    Aug 07, 2013 @ 18:27:58

    Congratulations on 15 years!!! Sorry my well wishes are late, I’m just catching up on my reading! What a cute, sweet couple you make – I love the picture! You are absolute blessings to your loved ones. And ps….I LOVE vintage too!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow dancingthruyears on WordPress.com
