Sick Day – “sick” food…

I took a sick day – today. Unfortunately, my sick day doesn’t look like anyone else’s because my “job” is right here at home taking care of my 92 yr. old bedfast MIL. My sweet hubby is the sound technician at our church of over 400 members and so Sunday is his big “work” day with two services and choir practices. Yesterday he napped off and on all day with a nasty summer cold and this morning, yours truly woke up with it! I had a volunteer coming this morning so I could go to church, but upon awakening realized I needed to call the volunteer.

So, around 7:30 after getting Granny awake and fed, I took some medicine and went back to bed. Hubby said I was snoring soundly when he left for church before 9. I awoke feeling light headed but a tad better at 10 so I began prepping some material for the next two quilts I will be making. “Prepping” means to sew all the raw edges together in a continuous loop before placing in the washing machine (so all the loose threads from washing don’t tangle), then cutting all the raw edges away, all the salvages away and pressing and starching fabric. With new fabric this is all done before beginning to cut your quilt pieces out.

Hubby had already agreed to eat sandwiches for lunch since I wasn’t feeling much like cooking. I had planned to make chicken stew for lunch but instead we ate the agreed upon sandwiches and at Noon I threw the stew together for us to eat in the evening. Myself for supper and for hubby when he returned from evening service. Hubby and I ate our sandwiches around 12:30 and all the ingredients for the stew were in the crock pot. With all the fabric I was prepping washed and dried, I cooked and fed Granny her lunch. Then, I laid back down around 1:30 for a nap, while hubby watched his favorite Brit Coms that he’d recorded from previous night.

Hubby woke me up before leaving at 4 for Choir practice so we could check and turn Granny. I then began trimming, starching and ironing about 20 yards of fabric. My goal was to have Granny fed supper and have fabric all prepped before I sat down to watch Design Star on HGTV and eat a little stew. Goal accomplished! I’ve kept the cold medicine going every four hours and am although a little hoarse, I am feeling better than I did when I got up this morning.

So here’s my Chicken Stew recipe – great sick food…especially when battling a cold!!

Chicken Stew Ingredients:

1 small onion, diced
3 chicken thighs (boneless, skinless)
3 medium potatoes, diced
1 – 12 oz. pkg. frozen mixed vegetables
1 clove garlic
1 t. salt
1/2 t. pepper
1/2 t. garlic powder
1 can cream of mushroom soup
2 cans of water
1 T. chicken base or = buillion cubes
1 t. cayenne pepper

I began by throwing 3 frozen chicken thighs in the crock pot. Don’t need to thaw. Add the diced onion on top. Peel and dice the potatoes and place on top of that. Pour the frozen vegetables on top. Add 1 whole clove of garlic, all the seasonings (Paula Deen’s house seasoning is salt/pepper/garlic combined), 1 can of water and chicken base. I combine the other can of water with the soup on top of stove and blend real good. Pour it over the top of everything. Sprinkle cayenne last. Put lid on crock pot and little simmer on low for 6-8 hours, stirring every couple hours. As chicken thighs cook, they will break up. Not too spicy hot, but you can leave cayenne off, if you prefer.

You could also use chicken breasts, if you prefer. Thighs was all I had in the house.

Looking forward to having a better day tomorrow, but feel like I’ve gotten quite a bit accomplished for a sick day. It’s off to bed now as I will be greeted by a rambunctious 21 mo. old at 7:30 in the morning!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Bonnie
    Jul 01, 2013 @ 04:32:29

    The stew sounds easy and delicious. I hope you feel much better tomorrow. Aren’t summer colds just the worst? Just a thought, is there much West Nile fever going around where you live? It’s not too bad here, but it is still a possibility during mosquito season. Take care!

    Reply

  2. Diana Black
    Jul 01, 2013 @ 15:55:28

    Pray you are feeling better, Sister love you

    Reply

  3. bittygirl51
    Jul 01, 2013 @ 23:00:46

    Thanks ladies for the well wishes. I am at about 85% today, so I’m encouraged.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow dancingthruyears on WordPress.com
