Interesting conversation with my 12 yr. old grandson

Preston is my 12 yr. old grandson. I don’t often have an opportunity to spend much time with him, so I’m pleased that for the past month he has come over with his two younger brothers while his mom was at work. (Most of the time he and his 15 yr. old sister stay at home during the summer or stay with friends.)

Let me preface what I’m about to say first by saying I don’t like “indecisiveness” or “wishy washyness”. I like people who are resolute! They know what they want and what they don’t want. Maybe that’s a tall order for a 12 yr. old, but it’s at least a “teaching moment” the way I see it. Preston is very “wishy washy” or “diplomatic” in his responses to me. I feel like he gives me the answer that he thinks I want, rather than what he really thinks. Often he will answer a question with a question. He often pauses before he answers trying to figure out if he’s “in trouble”. I need to point out that my grandson is a very polite young man and I have very little difficulty or challenges with him. But this little personality characteristic has become quite obvious and apparent. I have my theory on where it stems from but don’t care to blog all the details.

After several episodes that Paw Paw and I both witnessed where Preston seemed to be “tap dancing” around an issue, I decided it was time to talk about it. So, I began by quoting the scripture that says, “A double minded man is unstable in all his ways”. James 1:8 As we continued to chat, I encouraged Preston to take a stand on things and if he truly believed a certain way to let his yes be yes, thus quoting the scripture in James 5:12.

Preston is such a sweet boy. I worry though about his tendancy to want to be a “people pleaser” and therefore reminded him of the well known quote that says, “a man who stands for nothing will fall for anything”. Our kids are bombarded with so much nowadays and have way more pressure on them than I had back in the day. I pray for all my grandchildren daily. For them to be strong, resolute and as Shakespeare said, “to thine own self be true” is just a small part of what I desire for them.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Diana Black
    Jun 30, 2013 @ 21:16:49

    Psalms 55:11
    So shall my word be that goeth forth out of my mouth. It shall not return into me void. But shall accomplish that which I please, and it shall prosper in the thing where to I sent it.

    Reply

  2. bittygirl51
    Jul 01, 2013 @ 23:17:57

    Amen!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow dancingthruyears on WordPress.com
