What a sad, sad way to live…

Yesterday was TRASH day and so everyone’s trash in the neighborhood was at the curb awaiting pick up. While Kash and I were out for our morning stroll I noticed a young man (approx. in his 20’s) driving an old beat up compact car with no muffler. We walk an interesting “higher end housing” path thru the neighborhood that’s approx. 1 1/2 miles. The first time I witnessed this young man his car was idling, his driver’s door was open and he was rifling thru someone’s trash. (They had more than just normal household trash at the curb). I didn’t think much of it the first time I saw him, but as we continued to stroll thru the neighborhood we kept running into him driving up and down streets checking out everyone’s trash!!

My 62 yr. old brain said, “is he homeless”? “Does he live out of his car?” “Is he trying to feed his young family by searching for salvage?” Or, “is he trying to support a drug habit”? As a compassionate Christian, I wanted to ask him what he was looking for or maybe just witness to him.
But then I got what I would refer to as a “check in my spirit” – DANGER, DANGER, DANGER…beware.

So was the Holy Spirit leading me to speak to/witness to this man or was it the Holy Spirit when I heard “be careful, this man could be dangerous. He could have a weapon and you have your young grandson with you”?? I hate that when I don’t get clear and precise directions as to what to do – because I want to do the right thing. But I also don’t want to be stupid and endanger myself or my family.

I felt so sad that it appeared this young man was trying to making a living by “trashing”. It is rumored that alot of drug addicts do that in our city and so I chose to exercise caution even though I really wanted to reach out to him.

I said a prayer that God touch this young man and went on with my day. What would you have done?

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Patty O
    May 26, 2013 @ 20:20:17

    An excellent post posing an excellent question. When I have those “God moments” where I feel the Holy Spirit talking to me aka intuition, I find if I follow them, then things fall into place. I do think you did the right thing – especially in saying the prayer as you moved on.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow dancingthruyears on WordPress.com
