The Silly Games we Play, that Bring JOY to our Day!

The Silly Games we Play, that Bring JOY to our Day!

When my 5 yr. old and 19 mo. old grandson arrive each morning, I am still in my nightgown and have just finished waking, changing and feeding Granny. Ethan (5) is a big Netflix fan (Power Rangers, Transformers, Ninja Turtles etc;), but the baby, (Kash) is Maw Maw’s “helper”! So after we get breakfast out of the way it’s off to complete our “morning routine”. While making the beds there’s got to be some pillow pouncing and mattress jumping. (Yeah, I know – I’m a ‘cool’ grandma – not a stick in the mud that doesn’t allow any of that).

Then it’s off to the bathroom for some personal hygiene. Kash & Ethan both have their own toothbrush and bubble gum flavored toothpaste, but it’s just a chore to Ethan where it’s play and fun for Kash. He loves brushing his teeth. Of course, he’s chewing (cutting those eye teeth) more than he’s brushing, but he’s gotta participate when Maw Maw is brushing her teeth!

By the raising of hands and the wiggling of fingers Kash let’s me know that he want’s to peer out the bathroom window at the birdies that are perched on the patio furniture. This is a morning ritual! Of course, then we have to wave bye bye to the birdies when it’s on to my hair duties.

I have extremely long hair that has to be brushed and pinned up, but before I can do that I have to bend over, brush it over my head so my face is covered and then do my hands like a scary monster and chase Kash and his brother around the house! Oh, what fun! I know those are memories we will always cherish! Then, it’s back to the bathroom to finish my hair. While spraying my hair – Kash has to have a spritiz too!

You would think if there was vacumming to do, I would do it while the boys aren’t here…but I’ve discovered that they enjoy making a chasing game out of it. So while I vacumm the living room, dining room, 2 bedrooms and a hallway – they run and scream and jump up on the furniture while I chase them and try to “get them” with the vacumm monster!

Vacumm monsters, hairy monsters and tickle monsters are everywhere! Oh my, Maw Maw’s house can be such a scary and dangerous place! 🙂

My little helper has to water the plants for me, throw his diaper in the trash when I change it, help me sweep the kitchen floor. (He holds the dustpan, while I sweep the dirt into it).

They are both “all boy” – so they love fighting, building and destroying things – but anyone that says you can’t get anything done when you have little one’s in the house just isn’t organized! Mornings revolve around housework and in the afternoons we read books, build with blocks, play hide and seek etc;

With 14 grandchildren – but only a few that live close, I so wish I could have this much fun with all of them!

Image

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Tanya Ruff
    May 01, 2013 @ 16:13:09

    He cracks me up.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow dancingthruyears on WordPress.com
