Actively pursuing a relationship

My life nowadays  consists mostly of what I like to refer to as “lightbulb moments” and so while deep in thought over my morning breakfast, I asked the question, “why am I closer to my youngest child?”  I desire to be close to all three of my children, my son whose fixin to turn 43 next month, my middle child, a daughter who will be 36 in April and my baby girl who’s just turned 33.  Many would suggest that she’s a girl, and she’s the baby…blah, blah, blah as the reasons for us being the closest but I believe it’s because as an adult she has actively pursued a close relationship with me.

That is my LIGHTBULB MOMENT.  My son has never pursued a close relationship with me as an adult.  Doesn’t change the fact that I love him very much and want one.  Although more than a thousand miles separate us currently, it wasn’t always that way, so I can’t use that as a reason or excuse either.  When we lived in the same town, or 40 miles apart we still weren’t close and spent little time together.

My oldest daughter has matured to the point where I think she is working hard to pursue more of a relationship with me, but part of the hinderance has been her five children!  LOL  Less miles actually separate us than any of my three children and yet my youngest daughter and I spent the most time together these past few years and have great and wonderful moments together!  It’s because she initiates times with me.  It’s because she pursues a relationship with me.

After all, I’m getting old and am pretty conservative therefore my life is pretty boring!  My hubby and I are homebodies.  We don’t do a whole lot.  And yet one example of my youngest daughter’s “pursuing a relationship” with me is when 3 years ago for HER 30th birthday she suggested we go to Corpus Christi, TX for a “girl weekend”.  We ran a 5k, shopped and went to the spa for a manicure and pedicure.

More importantly, we had each other’s undivided attention!  It was awesome.  My prayer is that it’s not too late for my other two and I to have the same.

Leave a Reply

Follow dancingthruyears on WordPress.com
