Reflections of 911

11 years ago I was a professional insurance agent working for AFLAC.  I was walking into one of my client accounts the morning of the attacks.  I had heard something on my car radio and as I walked into my account I witnessed the second tower being hit on the TV in their office.  It was the day after my baby daughter had turned 22.  She turned 33 yesterday.

Since that day 11 years ago there have been many changes in my life some of which I was ready for and others which I was totally unprepared for.  For one thing I was 60 lbs heavier back then.  That was one of the positive things that came out of the 911 attacks for me.  I realized how fleeting life can be and how important it is to put myself on my “to do” list.  My weight loss and new healthier lifestyle opened up an entirely new venue for me when I went to work for Weight Watchers.  It was an awesome 5 year employment.

In the past 11 years, we’ve had 6 more grandchildren, watched as a son married his soul-mate only to almost lose her to an infidelity just a few short years later.  Another son was released from prison after 4 years of incarceration and then saw God continue to bless him with a great job and new wife. We witnessed a daughter move cross country, another to divorce, and another (the baby girl who turned 33 yesterday) to join the military.  While in the military, she met and subsequently married the man of her dreams and is now a successful realtor.  In 2009, I also had the miraculous opportunity to take an elderly brother home to his elderly mother after 32 years of incarceration!

Yes, life is fleeting, indeed!!

Now, 11 years later, we find ourselves in a very different place physically, emotionally and spiritually.  My husband and I are once again trying to “survive” in the insurance profession.  While working from our home we are also full-time caregivers for his almost 91 yr. old mother who is entirely bedfast, making business appointments too far from home very challenging, indeed!  We have been blessed with an awesome church family and therefore are blessed with the help and friendships we need during this very trying time in life.

Our problems are very small in comparison to what many families experienced 11 years ago in NYC.  And I don’t know if the 911 attacks have had anything to do with the gratitude I feel amidst the hardship we’ve experienced – but I would like to think it has.  I don’t know if the tragedy that we all witnessed that day has anything at all to do with why I don’t want to argue or quibble over non-essential matters, but I’d like to think that it does.

What I do know, is that life is too short to sweat the small stuff when all around us there are much larger matters to be concerned with.  Hug someone you love today.

Leave a Reply

Follow dancingthruyears on WordPress.com
